31 DAY BLOG CHALLENGE – Favourite quote.

I hope you’re having a great time,
In this post I will talk about my favourite quote, which is….

” It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; What is essential is invisible to the eye”
– The Little Prince

Most of us have read this little book written by Antoine de Saint Exupéry . A book for children written for grown-ups. The story is philosophical and includes social criticism, remarking on the strangeness of the adult world. Each planet the Little Prince visits can be seen as an allegory of human nature. If you have already read the book, you know what I mean…

This quote became important for me after I read the book of course but there was a moment in my life last summer that made me love this even more.
I was walking somewhere in Greece with a friend of mine Ape, when we saw a guy sitting on the ground, that seemed to be anything but happy. Without really discussing it or even mentioning it, me and Ape were sitting next to him trying to understand what was wrong.
We spoke in Greek, in English, in German but he didn’t react until we started to talk with each other in English (that’s what we do, especially when we drink a little bit more than usual). Anyways the guy was really drunk, he’d lost his friends, he had no idea where he was, he obviously needed some help. We tried to find a taxi for him, but no one really wanted to give him a ride in case he would vomit or pass out, so we walked and helped him find his hotel…. When we finally found it, I asked for a pen and a paper… I can’t really remember what I wrote in this letter but it was kind of like that :

”It was very nice meeting you, I hope you have a great time in Greece! Please promise, that you’re going to take care of yourself, cause the next time I am probably not going to be around to help. I never want to find you again in this situation, my name is blah, blah, blahhh…”

And in another paper which I still have he wrote his name and this:
13664322_1740749346165090_1292695945_n.jpg

In case YOU read this post, which hopefully you will…. YES, I do still have it on my wall after one year. Not creepy at all right, haha?

My aunt also made a bookmark for me with this quote, which I love and use everytime I read a book! (Right now I am reading ”The Alchemist”)

13664307_1740750619498296_89217420_n.jpg

I think this is so important to remember but we never do… We always try to find happiness in objects and we lose the meaning of freedom, love and finally life.

Leave a Reply

